Search
  • Jennifer Croft

New in the Kids Zone for January 2021!

Click on the titles below to place holds.

Oh my gods! / written by Stephanie Cooke & Insha Fitzpatrick ; art by Juliana Moon.

Oh My Gods!, the first in a new middle grade graphic novel series, reads as if Raina Telgemeier and Rick Riordan teamed up to write a comic, and offers a fresh and funny spin on Greek mythology. When an average girl moves to Mt. Olympus, she discovers her new classmates are gods and mythological creatures are actually real--as if junior high isn't hard enough!


Bad Kitty goes on vacation / Nick Bruel.

Kitty's life is still hard. Really, really, really hard. She's always being bothered, Puppy is always in her space (and drooling on her), and her plans for world domination seem to be at a bit of a stand still. So, when she gets the opportunity to go with her very favorite, generous, kind-hearted Uncle Murray to LOVE LOVE ANGEL KITTY WORLD, how on earth could she refuse?


Beware the Claw! / by Todd Goldman.

Meet the Hound Heroes: fearless Captain Chihuahua, the big-hearted Great, Great Dane, super-speedy Poodle Girl, cyborg pup Power Pug, and the lovable yet irritating Super Sheep Dog. Together they make up a crack team of earth's furriest heroes! In this first adventure, the Hound Heroes' origin story is revealed when a spaceship crashes in their backyard, giving them superpowers! But they aren't the only ones who benefit--neighborhood alley cat The Claw also gains powers, and she only wants one thing: to destroy the Hound Heroes!


Katie the catsitter / Colleen AF Venable ; illustrated by Stephanie Yue ; with colors by Braden Lamb.

Katie is dreading the boring summer ahead while her best friends are all away at camp--something that's way out of Katie and her mom's budget, UNLESS Katie can figure out a way earn the money for camp herself. But when Katie gets a job catsitting for her mysterious upstairs neighbor, life get interesting.


Black Canary : breaking silence / Alexandra Monir.

In this thrilling origin story of Black Canary, Dinah Lance's voice is her weapon. And in a near-future world where women have no rights, she won't hesitate to use everything she has--including her song--to fight back.


Julie and the phantoms : the edge of great / Micol Ostow.

Learn how Julie and the Phantoms bring their rock-and-roll dreams to life in this novel based on season one of the new Netflix show from Descendants director Kenny Ortega!


Big move to a tiny house / Jennifer Richard Jacobson ; illustrated by Paula Franco.

Family, friendship, new school challenges, and a rather large dog problem combine as sisters adjust to their new tiny house life in this charming chapter book series starter from award-winning author Jennifer Richard Jacobson. Perfect for fans of Ivy and Bean and Judy Moody.


The barren grounds / David A. Robertson ; [interior illustration, Natasha Donovan].

Morgan and Eli, two Indigenous children forced away from their families and communities, are brought together in a foster home in Winnipeg, Manitoba. They each feel disconnected, from their culture and each other, and struggle to fit in at school and at their new home -- until they find a secret place, walled off in an unfinished attic bedroom. A portal opens to another reality, Askâi, bringing them onto frozen, barren grounds, where they meet Ochek (Fisher). The only hunter supporting his starving community, Misewa, Ochek welcomes the human children, teaching them traditional ways to survive. But as the need for food becomes desperate, they embark on a dangerous mission. Accompanied by Arik, a sassy Squirrel they catch stealing from the trapline, they try to save Misewa before the icy grip of winter freezes everything -- including them.


Toy store trouble / Jennifer Richard Jacobson ; illustrated by Paula Franco.

Having fun isn't supposed to be such hard work! In their tiny house, the rule is Twig and Turtle are each allowed to have five toys. With a new toy store opening in town, the rule is creating a big problem--getting a new toy means giving up one they love. But when the girls realize that the owner has very old-fashioned ideas about who should play with what kinds of toys, changing her mind might be the biggest problem of all.


Just like that / Gary D. Schmidt.

In this poignant, perceptive, witty novel, Gary D. Schmidt brings authenticity and emotion to multiple plot strands, weaving in themes of grief, loss, redemption, achievement, and love. Following the death of her closest friend in summer 1968, Meryl Lee Kowalski goes off to St. Elene's Preparatory Academy for Girls, where she struggles to navigate the venerable boarding school's traditions and a social structure heavily weighted toward students from wealthy backgrounds. In a parallel story, Matt Coffin has wound up on the Maine coast near St. Elene's with a pillowcase full of money lifted from the leader of a criminal gang, fearing the gang's relentless, destructive pursuit. Both young people gradually dispel their loneliness, finding a way to be hopeful and also finding each other.


Flying over water / by Shannon Hitchcock and N.H. Senzai.

N.H. Senzai and Shannon Hitchcock expertly craft the intersection of the lives of two girls-one, a Muslim fleeing civil war, the other, an American from the South-as they are forced to examine their beliefs and the true meaning of friendship in the midst of the president's 2017 Muslim ban.

My very favorite book in the whole wide world / by Malcolm Mitchell ; illustrated by Michael Robertson.

Henley hates to read, so his homework assignment to bring in his favorite book seems an impossible challenge--until his mother shows him a box of books he made himself when he was younger.


I want to ride the tap tap / Danielle Joseph ; pictures by Olivier Ganthier.

A day-of-the-week picture book about a Black family who ride the taxi-bus service--called a tap tap--in Haiti, and the ... people they meet along the way.


Even Grouches wear masks! / Andrea Posner-Sanchez.

Elmo and his Sesame Street friends know how important it is for everyone to wear a mask--even Oscar the Grouch--in this timely paperback with photos of everyone's favorite muppets!


The trouble with penguins / Rebecca Jordan-Glum.

On the day the penguin discovered the person, everything changed. The person was happy to see the penguin, and showed it how to roast marshmallows by the fire. When it was time for the penguin to go, she gave it her favorite roasting stick and a warm hug goodbye. Once the penguin showed its penguin friends how to roast marshmallows, they all wanted a turn. It was wonderful ... until it wasn't. You see, the trouble with penguins is that they don't always know how to say they're sorry. But, with a little help and teamwork, they discover sharing is always the best tactic.


Covid-19 helpers / by Beth Bacon and Kary Lee.

A factual yet hopeful story about the 2020 global COVID-19 pandemic, [which] assures children that many people, including kids themselves, are helping to fight this new disease.


A sled for Gabo / Emma Otheguy ; illustrated by Ana Ramirez Gonzalez.

Gabo, shy with other children and having no sled or winter clothing, yearns to go sledding and his neighbor's granddaughter, Isa, helps him find a way.


My rainbow / by Trinity and DeShanna Neal ; illustrated by Art Twink.

A dedicated mom puts love into action as she creates the perfect rainbow-colored wig for her transgender daughter, based on the real-life experience of mother-daughter advocate duo Trinity and DeShanna Neal.


The old truck / Jarrett Pumphrey, Jerome Pumphrey.

When is an old truck something more? On a small, bustling farm, a resilient and steadfast pickup works tirelessly alongside the family that lives there, and becomes a part of the dreams and ambitions of the family's young daughter.

After long days and years of hard work leave the old truck rusting in the weeds, it's time for the girl to roll up her sleeves. Soon she is running her own busy farm, and in the midst of all the repairing and restoring, it may be time to bring her faithful childhood companion back to life.


The most beautiful thing / Kao Kalia Yang ; illustrated by Khoa Le.

Drawn from author Kao Kalia Yang's childhood experiences as a Hmong refugee, this moving picture book portrays a family with a great deal of love and little money. Weaving together Kalia's story with that of her beloved grandmother, the book moves from the jungles of Laos to the family's early years in the United States. When Kalia becomes unhappy about having to do without and decides she wants braces to improve her smile, it is her grandmother--a woman who has just one tooth in her mouth--who helps her see that true beauty is found with those we love most. Stunning illustrations from Vietnamese illustrator Khoa Le bring this intergenerational tale to life.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All